Monday, April 21, 2014

2014-15 Schedule: A Work in Progress

Some additions to what we know about the upcoming schedule:
* The exhibition game is against Prince Edward Island, who last came to Troy in the 2009-10 season. That game, according to precedent, is likely to take place on the 4th of October, coinciding with reunion weekend. It's possible it could be the following Sunday afternoon.

* The second day of the Icebreaker tournament will take place on Sunday in order to avoid the Notre Dame/North Carolina football game on Saturday.

* The Denver series is on, and it will be the weekend after the Icebreaker tournament as the Engineers rack up some frequent flyer miles in October.

* The Union home/home series is set to be the first ECAC games of the season for both teams. They kick off in Troy on Halloween night (which is likely to be Black Friday) and shift to Schenectady on November 1.

* Miami will return to Troy the first weekend of 2015 for a pair of games, according to the Redhawks' schedule.

* Other known opponents who we don't have a date for yet are Boston University, Bentley x2 (both coming to Troy), UConn, New Hampshire, and Michigan x2 (all on the road).

Open weekends are outlined below with an XX for each Friday and Saturday, though, of course, missing games could pop up on other days.

Our thoughts:
* The open weekend in October is probably the most likely place for the Bentley series to end up, since it would give RPI a pair of home games that count under their belts (against a little easier competition than their first two weekends) before starting league play.

* Expect the Michigan games to fall sometime in December after the break in the league schedule.

* The three Hockey East games, therefore, are likely to take place in November. It's possible the UNH and UConn road games will be one road trip. Meanwhile, we've seen BU pop up in Troy mid-week in the recent past, so don't be surprised if that happens.

* Expect the Harvard game to get moved to a mid-week placement if it doesn't follow the Yale/Brown road trip. Don't expect a game on January 31 - the trip to Dartmouth should basically just be a one-night stand.

Here's what we think we know so far.

Sat, 04 Oct - PRINCE EDWARD ISLAND (exhibition)
Fri, 10 Oct - at Notre Dame (Icebreaker)
Sun, 12 Oct - vs. Minnesota/Minnesota-Duluth (Icebreaker - South Bend, IN)
Fri, 17 Oct - at Denver
Sat, 18 Oct - at Denver
XX
XX
Fri, 31 Oct - UNION (Black Friday according to precedent)

Sat, 01 Nov - at Union
Fri, 07 Nov - HARVARD
Sat, 08 Nov - DARTMOUTH
Fri, 14 Nov - PRINCETON
Sat, 15 Nov - QUINNIPIAC
XX
XX
XX (Thanksgiving Weekend)
XX

Fri, 05 Dec - at Yale
Sat, 06 Dec - at Brown
XX
XX
XX
XX
XX (Weekend between Christmas and New Year's)
XX

Fri, 02 Jan - MIAMI
Sat, 02 Jan - MIAMI
Fri, 09 Jan - at Quinnipiac
Sat, 10 Jan - at Princeton
Fri, 16 Jan - COLGATE
Sat, 17 Jan - CORNELL
Sat, 24 Jan - vs. Union (Albany, NY)
Fri, 30 Jan - at Dartmouth
Sat, 31 Jan - at Harvard (will be moved according to precedent)

Fri, 06 Feb - at St. Lawrence
Sat, 07 Feb - at Clarkson
Fri, 13 Feb - BROWN
Sat, 14 Feb - YALE (Big Red Freakout! according to precedent)
Fri, 20 Feb - at Cornell
Sat, 21 Feb - at Colgate
Fri, 27 Feb - CLARKSON
Sat, 28 Feb - ST. LAWRENCE (Senior Night)

March 6-8 - ECAC First Round (at 5th, 6th, 7th, and 8th seeds)
March 13-15 - ECAC Quarterfinals (at 1st, 2nd, 3rd, and 4th seeds)
Fri, 20 Mar - ECAC Semifinals (Lake Placid, NY)
Sat, 21 Mar - ECAC Championship (Lake Placid, NY)
March 27-29 - NCAA Regionals (Providence, RI; Manchester, NH; South Bend, IN; Fargo, ND)

Thu, 09 Apr - NCAA Frozen Four (Boston, MA)
Sat, 11 Apr - NCAA Championship (Boston, MA)

No comments:

Post a Comment